Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | September 8, 2015

Be Still & See What God Is Doing

cb devo sept 8Now then, stand still and see this great thing the LORD is about to do before your eyes! 1 Samuel 12:16 (NIV)

It is hard for me to stand still, sit still, or just be still. I am one of those people that tend to have two speeds: energizer bunny or asleep. It’s as if I have a battery and I just keep going until my battery dies and then I have to sleep to recharge my batteries. Not only do I physically have trouble being still, but my mind has the same problem.

When I ask someone what they are thinking and they say “nothing” I have a hard time believing that because my mind is never off. I am constantly thinking…whether I mean to or not. You should hear some of the story lines that run through my mind. I am sure there is a blockbuster hit somewhere in there.

But, seriously, I think and think and think. Sometimes it is worry, but most often it is just wondering. Especially when I am waiting on the Lord.

What will things look like in the future?

Am I prepared?

Will I be content?

And then I read 1 Samuel 12:16 in my morning devotional, and I am reminded to be still. That the Lord is doing a great thing. That this great thing will happen before my eyes.

Listen, this verse was not written to me or about me, but I believe it applies to me. And I believe it applies to all of us at varying times in our lives. As I am waiting on the Lord to move in several areas of my life, I want to just be still and trust Him, knowing that He has a great thing waiting for me, and it will happen before my very eyes.

“Dear Lord, please help me to stand still and wait on you.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler
TRBC Coffee Break
http://www.drlaurelshaler.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

