Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | September 21, 2015

My Sacred Place

cb devo sept21“Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ, that I have not run in vain, neither labored in vain.” Philippians 2:16 (NIV)

Shabby chic or designer’s nightmare – not sure what they’d call that thing sitting in my garage. Blue, outdated and frayed, yet my heart can’t let it go. Every now and then I curl back up in my favorite chair. Discarded furniture to the average eyes, but it’s a sacred place for me. God and I did life in that chair. Maybe it’s why my Daddy loved his chair too. You would find him there early mornings when he wasn’t working. Bowed head not in sleep but in prayer. Bible open and mouth muttering things a little girl couldn’t understand but still remembers – whispered sound of his voice and the softening of his wrinkled face talking with Jesus.

Closing my eyes, I still see Daddy there – silently teaching me where to go for wisdom, how to find peace and where to turn when life’s upside down. A fading memory to some; he’s gone from here now, but a lasting impression to me. Brought me right to the throne room of God – me, my chair and brokenness. Poured out, spilled out and scooped up in the Father’s arms. Sleepless nights, angered outbursts and speechless praise echoed to the One that welcomed me into His presence. Sweet, sweet moments – life changing – that’s why I love that old chair. I hope my son remembers that chair. I know he found me there often. I’d often find him curled up at my feet or little arms extended wanting my love when his world crumbled. I pray I gave him more than a faded memory – I pray he saw me at the feet of Jesus.

“Father, there is no place I’d rather be than in Your presence.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

TRBC will be hosting the I Still Do conference
Saturday, October 17th.

I Still Do, a Family Life event, is designed for married couples to reconnect and strengthen their marriages. Dennis Rainey, Alistair Begg, and other speakers and entertainers will be sharing from the stage. The conference will be hosted live at TRBC and simulcast nationwide to thousands of churches! It’s an exciting event and we’d love to see the Worship Center filled with couples committed to their marriage, especially in light of the recent Supreme Court decision.

Add Clip

Leave a Reply

Categories

