Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | September 29, 2015

Round & Round

cb devo sept29“You’ve circled this mountain long enough, now turn north.” Deuteronomy 2:3 (NASB)

Every morning, I step on the scale holding my breath while it calculates my weight. I look down at the number glaring back at me and shake my head in disgust. Heading to the kitchen, I determine to eat all the right things and find time to exercise. But by evening, I’m sitting in front of the TV eating ice cream, cookies, or….well, you get the picture. I get up the next day and do it again. This has been my daily routine for a long time. Round and round that same old mountain. Much like the people in our passage. When God spoke these words to Moses, He was giving the Israelites a new direction. After wandering the desert for close to 40 years, due to their disobedience, the time had come to go into the land God had for them – the “Promised Land.” Even though this happened hundreds of years ago, how many of us feel like we’re circling? We’re stuck on the same old path feeling helpless to go in any other direction.

Whether we like it or not, we need someone to guide and give us direction. Our way doesn’t work. Even with all the will power in the world, nothing will stop me from eating ice cream, except a desire to follow God’s direction. By reading His Word and being in communication with Him daily, He guides us. By turning our eyes upward to Him, we allow Him to lead us. Because He loves us and only wants what is best, we can be assured that His way is right even if it isn’t easy. Our way leads to circling round and round, but God’s way always leads to our Promised Land.

“Dear Lord, forgive me for wanting to go my own way. With all my heart I want to obey You. Help me to follow You in everything I do, no matter what the sacrifice.”

For His Glory

Josey Bozzo
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

