Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | November 5, 2015

Empowered By His Grace

cb devo nov 5But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. – 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (ESV)

I love this verse! The quest for self-sufficiency is such a stumbling block for me. Paul’s words remind me why I must rely instead on the sufficiency of God’s grace. When I am weak. When I am wounded by the insults of a friend. When hardship comes and circumstances are out of my control. When I feel persecuted for my beliefs. When my life feels like a calamity. In all these things, I can be more than a conqueror when I admit my weakness, and rely on the power of His grace.

I long to be like Paul and boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses. Boasting of my weaknesses allows me to share the reality of the power of Christ with others. Self-sufficiency seeks glory for myself; dependency on Christ gives Him the glory. But all too often, I choose self-sufficiency over grace. I choose my weakness over His power. I want the transforming power of His grace, but sometimes allow my independence and pride to get in the way. When I try to do things in my strength, my weaknesses are magnified. When I acknowledge my weaknesses and rely on His grace, then I am strong.

Like Paul, I repeatedly ask God to remove hardships from my life. But, because of His grace He allows the hardships to remain so that, in increasing measure, I can grow to trust Him. His grace is sufficient.

“Lord, thank you that your grace is sufficient for me. Help me to overcome the pride and self-sufficiency in my heart that keeps me from accessing your power.”

For His Glory

Ann Skalaski
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

