Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | November 16, 2015

The Big Reveal

nov 16“Nothing is covered up that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known.” Luke 12:2 (ESV)

Ever longed for something special or waited for a grand event? Sitting on the edge of our world, we watched time pass by dreaming of the moment the curtain would drop, the truck would pull away and we’d see our big reveal. Wonder how we would respond if our big reveal wasn’t quite as we expected?

Had a conversation with God the other day. Simple words, a searching heart and a recognition that I needed to see me from His eyes – to know myself the way He knows me. Vulnerable, exposed and unveiled. I sat in great anticipation convinced that good lived there. Couldn’t wait to hear God praise my lofty attributes, gifts and sacrifices. Dreamed of the words He would say.

Amazing the way, we hide behind our faults and camouflage our flaws. The good I claimed was really a disguise for the selfishness, pride and insecurities that hovered close by. Without even uttering a word, God orchestrated moments one after the other. Circumstances that stared me straight in the face uncovering a soul revealed – a Jonah on the run, a Peter in denial, a Martha too distracted…do I really need to go on. God’s unveiling of me was more than I wanted.

Transformation never occurs when our vision is distorted. But change is possible when we see with God’s eyes. An unveiling of a big reveal – the kind we don’t like and want to forget, yet the kind that positions us to move forward not settle. Love the way God sheds light just enough to uncover the darkness so the illumination of Him can wash over me. Cleansing, purifying, preparing, anointing, transforming one who longs to experience the fullness of His glory.

Don’t dread the moment. Welcome it. Embrace it. Allow God’s reveal to position you for His best.

“Sweet Jesus the pain of seeing me paled in comparison to who You are. Full of love, grace and truth – an invitation to reflect, imitate and glorify You.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

