Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | January 21, 2016

Facing Your Giants

jan 21“That roused the Philistine, and he started toward David. David took off from the front line, running toward the Philistine.” I Samuel 17:48 (MSG)

I’m so thankful tears are a language God understands because I’ve definitely shed my share!! For example, I love the worship song, ‘Never Once Did I Ever Walk Alone.’ Inevitably the tears come, and I am overwhelmed that God has never once asked me to walk alone or left me on my own during so many battles. He has been and continues to be so faithful.

In I Samuel 17, David was confronted with his own giant and battle. Verse 48 teaches us that he took off from the front line and ran TOWARD the giant, fully confident he would deliver his people that day. He also chose to come in the NAME of the Lord, not with sword or warrior apparel but robed in humility, dependent on a mighty God, and courageously confident.

It made me contemplate how many times I haven’t run toward my personal giant/battles, because I have tried praying for a way out or a perhaps a way around it. When I have done this, I have prolonged the victory. Regardless of the outcome running toward the battlefield with confidence and faith in God ensures my deliverance. Running toward our battles enables us to tearfully sense God’s presence and power. It is then, we can joyfully proclaim we never once walked alone nor He left us on our own.

Thought for the Day: “It brings comfort to know God never leaves or forsakes us.”

“Lord, please give me strength to run TOWARD my battles knowing You are with me.”

For His Glory

Patsy Sanders
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

