Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 15, 2016

Love of My Life

feb15“Above all, love each other deeply because love covers a multitude of sins.” I Peter 4:8 (NIV)

Red shoe box decorated with white hearts – a slit in the top – perfect for my valentines to slide right in. Tiny little hands clutched that box as I stepped onto the school bus. It was the day my “love tank” would be filled with all those silly, crazy valentines. The girls giggled and the boys smirked. Love was a simple commodity – easily given no strings attached.

So why does love become so complex and complicated the older we get. Maybe it’s because we allow the wrong things to fill our “love tanks.” Maybe it’s a result of us not filling someone else’s “love tank.” Maybe it’s because we keep our love tightly clutched to avoid hurt. Maybe it’s because our expectations exceed what we are willing to give or sacrifice.

Hope and joy filled my “love tank” unexpectedly one day. Sweet conversations shared – just the two of us. My heart skipped at the thought of Him – it still does. And He not only captured my heart but taught me how to love. He didn’t even keep a list of my wrongs – even though there were many. And when it came to the ultimate sacrifice, His nail pierced hands spoke His love to me covering a multitude of sins. Red intermingled with white to unveil my new heart –now perfectly welcoming my valentine.

Wonder what would happen if I loved others deep like Jesus loves me? No strings attached – just simple grace and forgiveness extended.

“Father, You have captured my heart forever – teach me how to give that love away every day.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
Women’s Life

My sweet Valentine is none other than my Lord Jesus Christ. Would you like to meet Him? Reply to this email, and I’ll introduce you to the love of my life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

