Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 18, 2016

#Struggles

feb18“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2 (NIV)

I have decided to take a break from Facebook. Not because there is anything wrong with social media, but because there is something wrong with me! While doing a study called #struggles, I became aware of some ways social media was leading me to conform to the pattern of this world.

Social media has altered the meaning of the word “friend”…leading me to cultivate lots of shallow relationships, rather than deep friendships. Because I have moved several times, my closest friends are long-distance relationships. Since most of them are on Facebook, I have gradually traded exchanging “likes” and the occasional “private message” for soul-nourishing phone calls. But, friends are often the tools God uses to encourage, challenge and even correct me when my thinking gets murky. Those kinds of relationships require more than social media can offer, and I have felt the lack. In the two weeks I have been off Facebook, I have redirected that time to enjoy deep telephone conversations with close friends.

Furthermore, comparing the highlight reel of others’ lives with the reality of my current situation caused discontent to creep in to my life. If I did have something good to post, I was eager to see how many “likes” my post would receive…as if enough “likes” would in some way validate me. Finally, Facebook promotes a veiled image of who we really are. I recognized that my true self, struggles and all, was not being authentically displayed. I am not suggesting that we bare all on social media…oversharing is a problem in itself! But, as Christ-followers, everything we put on social media needs to be true…even though everything that’s true doesn’t need to be put on social media!
I suspect I will back on Facebook, eventually. I do believe that social media creates some wonderful opportunities to connect with others, as long as it is not at the expense of real, authentic relationships and my focus stays fixed on pleasing God. After all, one “like” from Him is worth everything!

“Lord, reveal to us ways that we may have slipped in to conforming to this world. Give us the wisdom and the courage to take control of any area of our life that causes us to stumble.”

For His Glory,

Ann Skalaski
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

