Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 19, 2016

Captivated By His Words

feb19“But these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.” John 20:31 (NIV)

What’s on your reading list for 2016? Each year, I make a list of books I’d love to read. Some are fiction like “Sweet Sanctuary” by Shelia Walsh. Some are geared to my life purpose like “The Art of Discipling Women” by Dana Yeahy. Some specifically target spiritual depth like “The Hardest Peace” by Kara Tippletts. And my latest read is “Breaking Busy” by Alli Worthington.

A wide range of authors and topics compose my list, and each one is geared towards drawing me closer to God. And of course, the Bible is my all time favorite. Drama, excitement and ordinary challenges compel me to read further. Victory, incredible miracles and life transformation leap off those pages and encourage me to walk in faith. Real people with authentic struggles inspire me to trust God even when I can’t see the end result.

Amazing truths from the Old Testament become reality in the New Testament tying these two books together reminding me that God always keeps His promises. There is no substitute for His Words when it comes to nourishing our spirit and gaining wisdom to face each day. We can read His Words from our phone, computer, IPAD or sitting in our comfy chair turning real pages. We can easily compare translations, learn Greek or Hebrew, browse commentaries – all without spending a dime. God’s Word has never been more accessible than it is now – so let’s not waste a moment of being immersed in the greatest read of all time!

“Father, give us a hunger and desire for Your Word in 2016 that revolutionizes the way we think and act. Help us to live our days embracing the life-sustaining power of Your truths.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

