Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 23, 2016

My White Flag of Surrender

feb 23“For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it.” Mark 8:35 (NIV)

When is the last time we found ourselves surrendering or throwing in the towel? Sadly, it is a fairly common occurrence in my life. When my honey’s “Honey-Do list” grows but never shrinks…when my children commandeer my TV for their video games…when my Yorkie decides to decorate my freshly cleaned floors with wet, muddy paw prints…I pull out my white flag of surrender! Though it is frequent, it is never pleasant. It’s as if these inhabitants of MY SPACE decided the “My Way Highway” was for their sole use and pleasure. But what about what Mama wants?!?!

There may be an air of humor to this, but the truth is part of me recoils at the thought of surrendering…even to God. My preferences and plans have such a strong pull over my heart. Yet, as Andrew Murray noted nearly 200 years ago, “Absolute surrender to God, our loving and holy Father, is the first and last duty of the Christian.”

Recently, I heard a story about two pots placed on display (both holding lights within). The light could not be seen through the first pot because it was solid and secure. But, the light shone brightly through the second pot which was cracked and broken because it had many gaping holes and openings. In the same way, God wants to shine His light through us. But, He cannot do so unless we surrender our control and allow Him to design and rearrange our lives according to His standards and preferences rather than our own.

“Lord, today we ask for Your grace and strength to surrender the control of our hopes, desires and preferences. Have Your way with our lives that Your glory and power may shine through us!”

For His Glory

Claudia Dempsey
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

