Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | March 4, 2016

Forever Changing

mar4“Always learning but never able to acknowledge the truth.” 2 Timothy 3:7 (NIV)

Just getting it done – I remember that well when I was in high school. Homework was a chore – a thing to mark off my list. Cleaning my room gave me freedom on the weekend. And reading the Word well that kept me on God’s favor list or so I thought. But did I really benefit by “just getting it done?”

Choosing to slide by will always reveal our weakest link. And when it comes to God’s classroom, we can’t afford to settle for less. Mentored by the Apostle Paul, Timothy was taught powerful lessons. Reminders to hold fast to the truths of God’s word that he had been taught from early childhood. Encouragement to have a clear conscience. Warnings to flee even the slightest presence of evil. Challenged to be ready, prepared and willing to share the gospel that transformed his life. “Just getting it done” never entered Timothy or Paul’s mind.

Do we ever entertain those thoughts? Doubt that we would admit it, since we often pride ourselves on being in the know. But knowing and acknowledging are distinctly different. Anyone can take in but only the brave, courageous, and humble recognize that acting on what we know leads to transformation. God longs for us to not only hear the Word, but to be empowered by the Word. I don’t want to just slide into Heaven’s gates. I want to take others with me. I want to leave an imprint on this world that catapult’s others to hold on tight to what they have learned at the feet of Jesus. Won’t you join me? Always learning – forever changing.

“Father, it is too easy to sit, listen and read – spurred in the moment – but discarded in a second. Help us to hold on tight to the truths of Your Word that position our lives to act, impact and reflect Your heart.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

