Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | April 27, 2016

Exactly What We Need

apr 27“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18 (NIV)

 

One time in college, I was at the mall having a very relaxing day. I went out to my car and when I tried to start it there was no sound, no creak, nothing! I just knew I had done something wrong, and once I turned the key again it would start right up! So I turned the key one more time and  again nothing.   So, I walked back in the mall to call someone. (Yes, this was before cell phones and YES, I’m THAT old!) I tried everyone on campus I could think of and I was feeling rather defeated, so I called my Dad. My Dad is the one I always turn to when I have problems, especially with cars. When I told my Dad the problem, he calmly said, “Melissa, I’m eight hours away, what can I do?” I didn’t know; I just knew I needed my dad to tell me what to do.

Psalms 34 is one of those passages I go to when I need God to tell me what to do. I often find myself on my knees talking to God and asking Him to show me the next step. I never have trouble with verse 6, “This poor man called, and the Lord heard him; He saved him out of all his troubles.” Isn’t that glorious? I can call on the Lord and He will answer and meet the need. If you have been going through a difficult period in your life, crushed by some unkind deed, or if you have lost a loved one and are feeling the pangs of loneliness, remember the psalmist’s words, “the Lord is close to the broken hearted” (Psalm 34:18).

“Lord, thank you for always being there for me, when I have no one else.  I am so glad that I have you to lean on for all those answers that I’m searching for.”

 

For His Glory

Melissa Tucker
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

