Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | May 24, 2016

Love Beyond What We Can See

may 24“But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” Romans 5:8 (NIV)

 

A few evenings ago, I heard a knock on my door.   Standing there with a huge smile on his face was my 10-year-old neighbor Peyton, in his blue and white baseball uniform, excited to tell me that his team had won its game. He spilled out all the statistics about his team; how many games they won, how many they lost, how many they tied, and what would happen if the lucky streak kept on going. His bright, blue eyes were sparkling with euphoria as he shared his accomplishments with me. Then, suddenly, he popped a question, “Would you like to see my pet toad?” Now, mind you, I am not fond of many critters of the wild, and a toad is not something I would envision a child wanting to have as a pet. Nonetheless, in order not to wipe my little neighbor’s smile off his face, I agreed to step outside and take a look at his friend.

 

Peyton hurried out ahead of me and jumped in the protective barrier of the first floor apartment’s window seal, where the toad was being “housed.” He picked it up and climbed back out to show it to me. I didn’t want to seem afraid or disgusted by the ugly frog he held, so I kept nodding my head as he caressed the creature with his fingers. Then, I finally couldn’t resist it and asked,” Why a toad? What is so special about toads that you wanted to have one?”

 

Without hesitation, Peyton responded, “I love this toad. Not everyone loves toads and if it weren’t for me, he would be out here all by himself, with no one to look after him. He is special to me.” After saying those words, the lad kissed the frog and placed it back in its safe spot by the window seal.

 

Peyton seems to understand well the language of selfless, unconditional love the Lord Jesus modeled for us, the love that sees beyond outward appearance and warms the heart. Like this little guy, we, too, can love, nurture, encourage, and comfort without judging by someone’s outer appearance.

 

“Lord, help us to love like You do, unconditionally and selflessly.”

 

For His Glory

 

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

