Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 7, 2016

Family Matters

june 7“You are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household.”  Ephesians 2:19 (NIV)
Do you ever have that kind of day that makes you nostalgic, and the nostalgia becomes a subtle type of whining? Well, I do.  In just a few weeks, my grandbaby number six will be born in Western New York. Last Friday, I was talking to the Lord as I looked at pictures from the baby shower I could not attend, and I was feeling a little blue because I live so far away from my children and grandchildren. “Lord,” I exclaimed, “why do I have to live so far away from my family, when I strived my whole life to be near them? Children grow so fast, and I am missing out on so much, Lord!” Yes, I was having a little pity party of my own, complaining to the Lord about what He already knew (and He showed me later that He did).
Shortly after my semi-emotional outpouring to the Lord, a friend invited me to attend a church service with her at a local Hispanic church. The service would be in Spanish. Also, because it was an Assemblies of God church, women would be in skirts and that day happened to be “Casual Friday” at work so I wore my blue jeans. I had enough reasons to say no.
In spite of any opposition, I went with her and I am glad I did, because praise and worship was exactly what I needed that Friday evening. I let myself be immersed by the words of each song and I surrendered wholly to the Lord in adoration of His majesty. As I let myself loose in His presence, I felt Him say to me, “See, daughter? You are not alone and you are not far away from family. In Your Father’s house, My house, you are amidst My children, you are with FAMILY, because these are your brothers and sisters in Me. It does not matter the color of their skin, the language they speak, the songs they sing, the way they dress, or the denomination to which they belong. You are Mine and My family is your family.” At that moment, all sadness faded away and supernatural joy took over.
In spite of all the blessings we receive from the Lord, sometimes we focus on things that inflict unneeded pain in our hearts. If, instead, we willingly and freely surrendered to our Father and let Him steer us through our journey, the guilt and pain we feel would fade away. He knows where we need to be at each season of our lives and He provides the support we need.

 

“Dear Lord, ‘home’ is where You are. ‘Family’ is what we have in you. Thank you.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

