Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 14, 2016

Due Date

cb devo oct5 “At midnight, the cry rang out: ‘Here’s the bridegroom! Come out to meet him!” Matthew 25:6 (NIV)

The past week and a half I have lived in the anticipation of a phone call to let me know my daughter-in-love Jesie has started labor. Her due date is not until May 29th, but this grandma has been excited and a little impatient. This will be the first baby for Jesie and my youngest son, Lukas.

 

I cannot explain the feeling very well, but there is something exhilarating about becoming a grandparent. No matter how many grandchildren one has, each time is like the first time.  In my case, baby Tristan will be grandbaby number six, and the euphoria level is not a bit diminished. It won’t be much longer before baby Tristan is here, whether he comes on his due date or not. And for me, it will be a privilege to have him call me “vovó,” (that means “grandma” in Portuguese). My bag is already packed and the only thing standing in the way of this little guy’s birth and me is that phone call telling me to get in my car and start driving because contractions have started.

 

As I think on the events above, I am reminded that “due” means “expected,” or “anticipated.” I can’t help but to think of the ten virgins who were awaiting the bridegroom in the story told in Matthew chapter 25. Though the ten virgins knew the bridegroom was due to come at a late hour and that they needed to be prepared with their lamps, only five of them brought oil to keep their lamps burning.  Because the other five had to go buy oil for their lamps, they missed his arrival and did not enter in to the wedding banquet. What a shame, right?

 

The Lord Jesus will return one day to take us with Him. That is for sure and for certain, because He said He would. Will we be prepared?

 

“Lord, You love us and Your Word guides us. You never fail us, and You promised to return for us. What a marvelous promise that is!”

 

For His Glory

 

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

