Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 24, 2016

Remember…..

june 24“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.”  Matthew 5:14 (NIV)

Remember your favorite doll? How about your favorite birthday?   Would we dare forget the moment we transitioned from childhood to womanhood?  Or best friends who stuck with us through many boyfriends and crazy pizza nights.

Remember your first Bible?  I sure do.  It was my first Sunday at a new church.  Drizzling, cold rain made the walkway slippery.  And regardless of my father’s attempt to catch me, I kissed the sidewalk unpretty style.  My Bible, well it was quite a mess, but I reached for it. Daddy helped me up, and we headed into my classroom blood stained knees, tears and all.  I’m sure that sweet Sunday School lady never forgot me – I never forgot her.  She was the one who prayed with me when I invited Jesus into my heart.    And that torn Bible , well it had this ugly green hardback cover, but was it ever sweet. I held it really close after that fall, and it held me close many times.

I remember verses I learned – God  spoke them back to me.  I remember stories on flannelgraph; they seemed alive and real just the way God wrote them.  Most of all, I recall this bigger than life man who spoke with a strong voice and a big smile – my Daddy said he was destined to change the world.  You know what, he did – Jerry Falwell changed the world. And this little girl with scuffed up knees and lost promises found hope, encouragement and determination in a spiritual legacy I experienced every time I went to his church.

Do you remember who introduced you to Jesus?  How about the person whose spiritual legacy impacted you?  Amazing, ordinary people – just like you and me who were crazy in love with their God.

“Father, I want to be a person whose ordinary life yields an extraordinary legacy – drawing others to Your throne.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

