Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 14, 2016

Poised For Victory

july 14“Use every piece of God’s armor to resist the enemy in the time of evil, so that after the battle you will still be standing firm.” Ephesians 6:13 (NLT)

Pulling into our driveway, I noticed something just didn’t look right.  Getting out the car, I headed towards the front door and that’s when I saw it.  My beautiful overflowing petunias were gone, evaporated.  When I left early in the morning, I walked right past them without noticing a thing.  Nipped and frayed, my petunias now looked like a haircut gone bad.  Little snippets of leaves and vines circled the planter  – no flowering buds insight.  Who would do such a thing?  How cruel?  I couldn’t figure it out and then all of a sudden a harsh reality sunk in.  My petunias were probably devoured by those cute deer I had seen the night before.  Innocently running through our yard, I never thought they would be capable of destroying, devouring and ripping apart my petunias.  My husband confirmed my suspicions.   And while I was still fuming, he gave me some good advice to keep those deer from having a feast with my flowers.

You know, sometimes we leave our lives exposed like those petunias vulnerable to the attacks of one who loves to devour our best intentions.  Oh we might look like we’ve got it all together on the outside, but if we’re not doing something on the inside to protect our mind, soul and heart then we’re a sitting prey for Satan’s feast.  What looks innocent and cute in one moment turns into utter destruction in the daylight of dawn.

God’s divine advice – flee, resist and turn away – perfectly poised for victory.  Don’t even entertain drawing close to the edge of anything that could simply slide right in and devour us.  Don’t lower our guard for even a second boldly proclaiming we’d never do that while casting judgment on others.  Don’t be fooled into believing we’re stronger than our weakness or the last temptation.  Instead cling to God!  Gather His words around us and dare the enemy to come close.

“Father, we often entertain what we think we can control only to fall flat on our face.  Help us to realize that Your protection plan guarantees our success.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

