Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 27, 2016

Simple Obedience

july 27“Having purified your souls by your obedience to the truth for a sincere brotherly love, love one another earnestly from a pure heart. “  I Peter 1:22 (ESV)

Ever found yourself resisting obedience?  Or perhaps  how many times have we turned off the voice of God?  We hear His instructions loud and clear and then we walk in the opposite direction.

Haven’t always been good at tuning in –  sometimes doing what God wants requires sacrifice, humility, love and grace.  So we hear and choose to disobey or partially obey and pat ourselves on the back for a great job. But in God’s equation – partial obedience is still disobedience.

Witnessed some God listening as I maneuvered my car through Walmart’s Friday traffic.  I was eager to get home; my sister was not.  She had seen a lady hunched over wandering through the parking lot.  My quick response was to keep going – she was perfectly fine.  But, my sister’s tender heart was not hard like mine.  She insisted we drive up to this lady and ask if she was okay.  So reluctantly, at her persistence, we did.  The sweet elderly lady was lost. She couldn’t find the bus stop because she physically couldn’t stand straight up to see where she needed to go.  My sister pointed her in the right direction, and we didn’t pull out of sight until we saw her make it to the bus.  Simple obedience.

Love the way God doesn’t give up on us hearing His voice.  Grace filled, He orchestrated another circumstance and this time, I was alone. It wasn’t a lady in the parking lot, but it was a clear instruction to help someone in need.  As though I had misunderstood, I said , “Lord please make sure I’m hearing this right – you want me to do what?”  And when He confirmed the out of ordinary request, I simply obeyed.  Hope I keep this lesson fresh – that I don’t slide back to excusing His voice , and  I eagerly run towards what God is saying – no pat on my back needed.

“Father, I pray our hearts stay tender to Your voice, that life doesn’t sidetrack us to accept excuses or rationalizations when You simply want our obedience.”

 

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

