Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 2, 2016

Choose Joy

 aug 2“Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy.”  Psalm 126:2 (NIV)

The three upper-70’s ladies were standing in church one Sunday morning, visiting before the service began; and as they did, I watched them. Their hair was like shiny silver and their skin showed signs of being well worn. Some of their hands exhibited evidence of arthritis. Yet, the three of them were dressed in lively colors, had makeup on, and their jewelry matched their personalities. They had a fun, loud, jovially-sounding laughter and it was evident they were enjoying one another’s company.

I love to watch people, especially when they are among friends. A lot can be said about people when they feel free to be themselves without the concerns of being monitored for their actions. Even when we cannot hear what people are saying, their facial expressions, and body language can give away the occasion, i.e., whether they are sad, mad, happy, jolly, concerned, or struggling. For those three little ladies in church that day, I could tell it was definitely a good day.

We all need friends and encouragers, especially when life’s curve balls throw our balance off. When we surround ourselves with caring friends, we can’t stay sad, even if we tried. When I was faced with the abandonment of divorce, I was hurting and my pain was very deep. I was grieving the loss of my marriage and tears had become my constant companions. Yet, because I had caring friends who checked on me and made sure I didn’t succumb to the “blues,” I was able to navigate the sad waters of divorce and come out stronger on the other side.

Life is not a bowl of cherries, but it doesn’t have to be a lonely, dark and sad journey, either. Those three little ladies I saw in church had chosen to get out of bed, get dressed and go to church that morning. They chose to have a good day. My struggles with anxiety, grief and sadness from divorce were overcome because I made a conscious choice to not let them drive me down. Whatever your struggle or worry is today, I encourage you to choose joy. If it doesn’t come naturally, surround yourself with your sisters in the Lord, who will lift you up, pray for you, and provide the fellowship and friendship you need during your hard times.

“Father, thank You for our friends and family in You.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

