Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 3, 2016

When Life’s A Little Crazy

aug 3“As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.” James 5:10b-11

When things seem to be going crazy for me on this cancer journey, I often find myself putting my attention on the “who can fix it” so I can live in ease and comfort. I forget those verses which say “in this world you will have trouble.” I must confess, I have found myself looking to the world of doctors, blogs, research, clinical trials, and medicine to do something for me only God can do. And that makes me weary because what if I or they miss something? What if there’s a new treatment the doctor I have doesn’t know about? How can I with certainty select the best new doctor for me?

This past week I made a new commitment about some things to the Lord.  And I am amazed by how God has worked.  I now notice my sin more quickly. Which is good because I can confess and forsake it more quickly. I sense His presence, His mercy, and His compassion more readily. I realize I don’t have to beat myself up, but I can continually lay myself before Him so He can shape and transform me into the person He created me to be.

Maybe you too need to be reminded along with me that the Lord is “full of compassion and mercy” and He is for you more than anyone is for you…..even you. He longs to know you and for you to know Him. Not just in a “church way” but in a personal way. And while knowing Him requires giving ourselves to Him, we get the best of the exchange because we get Jesus. He wants to heal you. Maybe it won’t be physically, emotionally or the changing of your difficult circumstances, but definitely spiritually. And that is really the only healing that makes an eternal difference.

“Father help us to seek You today and keep our eyes open for how You may speak to us.”

For His Glory

Jane Abernathy
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

