Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 4, 2016

Priceless Words

aug 4“Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” Exodus 4:12 (NIV)

Do you ever struggle with knowing the right thing to say?  I sure do. As a writer I’m always editing, proofing, changing and attempting to perfect those words that fill my pages.  I’ll read them over and over again to ensure clarity.  I verify my scripture references carefully, and my knees get worn out on the floor as I bathe what I’ve written in prayer.  And the cool thing is when I seek God’s guidance, He shows me the revisions I need to make and assures me when the edit is done.

Unfortunately, I don’t always treat the spoken word with the same respect.  It is so easy to just let those words flow carelessly off our lips, rather than pause and seek God’s guidance.  As women our nurturing tendencies can often rise to the surface quickly handing out advice to solve anyone’s dilemma.  We love to help our husbands, children, siblings, friends, co-workers and even strangers.  We have a remedy for every situation that arises.

Why?  Because we want to help.  But sometimes, those words and our inquisitiveness can do more damage than good.  Like sandpaper on a glass top, our abrasiveness scratches the surface of tender hearts.  Not everyone wants a solution – sometimes they just want a shoulder to cry on. While our intentions are good, timing is critical when it comes to sensitive matters of the heart.

Unlike my writing, once those words are spoken they can’t be erased or revised.  Maybe that’s why God instructs us to be quick to listen and slow to speak. When we take the time to listen first, pause and seek God’s guidance then our words are priceless treasures.

“Father, help us to partner together to bathe our words in prayer.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

