Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 26, 2016

God Whispers

aug 26“While you were doing all these things, declares the LORD, I spoke to you again and again, but you did not listen; I called you, but you did not answer.”  Jeremiah 7:13 (NIV)

TV going in the background, radio blaring downstairs, and did I fail to mention the washer and dryer were vying for their spot in the orchestra?

Whoever said silence is golden was right.  Noise surrounds us both at work and home.  Love opening up the door to an empty house and just taking in the quiet, but it doesn’t take long before conversation, music or cooking steal my solitude.  And my little piece of stillness evaporates leaving me longing for more.

Wonder if God ever feels like He’s competing with all that chatter, activity or busyness in my brain?  Wonder how many times I miss His whispers because I avoid silencing my voice so He has a chance to be heard?

As a child, I remember my Mom pulling me close and whispering in my ear.  I loved hearing her hushed voice as she spoke whispers into my soul – reminding me I was loved or telling me how proud she was of me – sweet words of affirmation.  I also remember moments when I was disobeying, and she drew me up in her arms and whispered words of warning so I wouldn’t be embarrassed in front of my friends – sweet words of discipline.

Wonder if God does the same?  Wonder if He draws me close so only I can hear the hush of His voice telling me I’m His girl.  Wonder if He draws me close so only I can hear the things that need to change before I land flat on my face?    One things for sure if He draws me close, God’s whispers are worthy of my undivided attention.

“Father, teach me to draw near and hear Your whispers guiding me each day.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

