Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | September 23, 2016

The Good Fight

sept-23“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”  2 Timothy 4:7 (NIV)

Out of the corner of my eye, I could see him.  Slowly he edged around the corner of his car, feet dragging to the tune of his walker.  Captivated, I slowed my pace as I watched him grab a bucket out of his trunk that he used as a stool. Sitting down, he reached for his wheelchair and attached the wheels.  Struggle edged the roughness of his tired face, but it didn’t deter him.  Rising with the support of the walker, he flung himself onto the wheelchair and maneuvered toward the entrance to the gym.

Who are you picturing in your mind – who do you envision this man to be?  I would probably surprise you if I told you he was a man in his late 30s or perhaps early 40s.  I’ve seen him in the gym diligently working his arms, strengthening and improving what he has left despite his obvious limitations.  Not caving in or giving up, but rather pressing through the overwhelming workout it took just to get him in the front door.

How often do we persevere and press through challenges?  Do we simply accept where we are – perhaps giving up expecting nothing more because of our perceived limitations?  Or like this man, do we become creative and more determined?

Whether we are facing physical, emotional, spiritual or financial challenges we can choose to invest in strengthening our faith. Circumstances surrounding us may dance and shout defeat, but we can choose to take what’s left and entrust it to God.  With His help, we can rise above the challenges we face. God’s Word is full of examples of ordinary people who, despite their circumstances, remained faithful to Him.  They fought the good fight, they kept the faith and received the prize – isn’t that what we want?

“Father, I entrust all the uncertainties of my life into Your sovereign hands – enable me to finish well, to press through and honor You.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

