Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | October 17, 2016

Authentic Worship

oct-17“Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head and fell on the ground and worshiped.” Job 1:20 (ESV)

Ever experienced the amazing sweetness of sacrificial worship?  It’s the kind that flows from an aching, broken heart that chooses to still praise God. It’s the overflow from those who don’t need blessings, gifts, and yes answers to fuel their praise. It’s the sweet rhythm of souls eager to lay down all that is left at the feet of Jesus and lift empty hands in praise.

Hurricane Matthew birthed some of those moments.  Hundreds of miles away from the US, the country of Haiti was devastated by the storm.  With the death toll rising daily to now over 1,000, Haiti is one of the most impoverished countries in our world.  The 145 mile per hour wind whipped through their villages and left over 1.4 million people in desperate need of help.

Despite the loss of family members and homes, survivors of the hurricane got up on Sunday morning and put on their best clothes.  They walked among the devastation and gathered at churches where roofs were gone and walls were shattered.  Some Haitians were even found setting up an altar and praying outside of their crumbled sanctuaries.  I would have loved to hear their voices praising God.  Sweet, powerful and authentic worship not dependent on what they had but rather enlarged by their losses. I’ve read the news article over and over again and each time I am captivated by the depth of their love for God.

Sunday, I got up and rode to church; I didn’t have to walk.   I took a hot shower, washed my hair and put on my face – did I mention I had water?  I rummaged through my closet and grabbed a new dress from among many.  I ate a delish breakfast with my sweet husband – no one was missing from our table.  My life was full and not empty.  I sat among others in our beautiful church with stage lighting and great acoustics and wondered if God loved hearing my voice?  Was my worship real or was it dependent on the ease of my life?  Would I be there lifting my hands and voice if all I had were stripped away?

Deep in my heart, I pray that I would be that real, authentic worshipper. That I would not offer Him anything that did not cost me something.  That I would forever recall God’s faithfulness and love Him for who He is and not for what I have.

 

“Father, in the depth of great loss our worship unveils what we really worship.  I want to be that woman who stands with hands full or empty praising You – blessed be the name of the Lord!”

 

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

