Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | November 30, 2016

Desires Of Our Heart

nov-30Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4 (NKJV)

The key to unlocking the desires of our heart is to have a solid relationship with God –  to be in His word and communicate daily through prayer. The ultimate goal (Psalm 37:5) is to be so in tune with God that when He tweaks our desires, we totally trust Him for the outcome.

2014 was a difficult year of back to back losses of my brother and mother-in-law. My desire was that nothing bad would happen in 2015, and we had the best year ever.  We spent tons of special moments with my parents, checking off bucket list items, and making SO many amazing memories.

As 2015 came to a close, 2016 started off with the most unimaginable heartbreak. I suddenly lost my dad in January, just a month after spending a magical trip with him and our extended family at Disney World. Did God give me the desires of my heart? Absolutely! However, God had other plans in mind for me and the loss was a launching point towards new dreams and goals.

I’m learning that God is a loving Father that knows what’s best for me. Part of my desires for this year was to go back to work as I’ve been dealing with a debilitating chronic illness. He gave me that desire in the biggest way possible working at Walt Disney World – the place that held a special part in my heart as it was the last place I spent time with my dad. God continues to guide that process as I’ve been able to work less because my illness just isn’t letting my body handle it. Again, I’m learning that God’s plans are good in the midst of disappointments and frustration. I’ve been able to use some of the time off to be with my mom,  spend time with friends,  be available when our family visits, and use the good days and energy to volunteer at church.

It’s okay to dream and dream big!! God wants to bless us in BIG ways. Sometimes it’s a process to get there, and we have to trust God knows the right route. We can enjoy the blessings and embrace the tough turns because the joy at the end of the journey is so worth it.

“Father God, how thankful we are that You love us and only want the best for us. Sometimes that means our desires and dreams get changed a bit. Help us to look for the joy in the journey and focus on the eternal outcome.”

For His Glory

Katrina Redman
TRBC Women’s Life

Responses

  1. It is hard to think of the blessings the had brought when you see a lot of lost in the past year, my sunday school teachers husband and now she has bone cancer, the loss of my ex-sister in law’s husband, the loss of my 2nd cousin, the lost of a former neighbor, and a whole host of others since spring of this year

    • Praying for you Amylou – yes, it is so hard to transition from loss after loss to seeing God’s blessing. Satan loves to distort our view of who God is and His great love for us. – I’ve been through many seasons of loss myself, but the one constant in all of those losses was that God has walked, carried and held me through them all. His design for this world was that death and sin would not reign, but sin has birthed those things into our world. So thankful for His grace when my heart wonders and so thankful for His loving mercy that reaches out to me even when I’m not reaching out to Him. Praying God’s comfort and peace over you and that through all these losses, God will give you a renewed sense of His presence and love.

      • thank you, so


Leave a Reply

Categories

