Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | December 15, 2016

And Let There Be Light

dec-15“And God said, ‘Let there be light!’ And there was light.”  Genesis 1:3 (NIV)

I am a lover of light. If I am at home, I like to enjoy the brightness of those light bulbs. But there is nothing better than sitting and enjoying the light of the sun touching my skin, or watching the sun setting over the Blue Ridge Mountains. And then, at night, savor the splendor and shine of the moon and the stars. I often jokingly greet the light with the famous, legendary Biblical phrase, as spoken by God in the book of Genesis, “Let there be light!”

Light brings out the shapes and sizes of what lies ahead of us. It illuminates the path, so we can see what dangers may be imminent, such as a cliff or precipice, or what hurdles may be impending. the presence of light exposes anything or anyone which may be hiding or concealed from sight, awaiting to prey on us, taking advantage of the darkness.

Jesus said in John 12:35, “whoever walks in the dark does not know where he is going.” Now, at the time He spoke those words, Jesus was speaking to the crowd that was attending the festival of tabernacles, and He was trying to prepare them for his eminent death. Jesus wanted the people to have a chance to choose between light and darkness, life and death, Him and the ruler of this world.

I was the first member of my household to accept Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior in June 1982. During my growing years, however, I witnessed my parents seeking God in all the wrong places, which involved my mother becoming a practicing medium in Spiritism. The meetings they attended took place in the dark, otherwise the “spirits” would not show up. As you can probably imagine, those practices infused terrible fear of the dark in my heart. I could never stay alone at home unless every single light bulb was lit; that was how badly I was afraid of the dark.

On the day I chose to publicly profess the Lord Jesus as my Lord and Savior all that changed. He filled the areas where fear indwelled in my life and gave me the assurance that even if physical light bulbs were turned off, He would be there in the dark with me. From that day forward I learned that the power that comes with the name of Jesus is way more powerful than anything else in the world and that if I want to be in light, I can simply call out His name, because He is light (John 8:12).

“Father, thank You for extinguishing darkness in our lives.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

