Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 2, 2017

Matching Scars

feb-2“You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! Trust in the LORD always, for the LORD GOD is the eternal Rock.” Isaiah 26:3,4 (NLT)

My sons have matching scars across the left side of their foreheads.

When Hunter was about one and a half years old, my mom and sister rode with us on a commuter train. We had a wonderful lunch followed by a stroll around the shops and park. Unfortunately, the return train was late, causing us to wait on the platform for a long time. Hunter had just learned to walk a couple of weeks before and was still wobbly. My mom and I were keeping a close eye on him while he was exploring the platform, but still, he fell. No, he did not fall off the platform. He did, however, fall into a planter. I will never understand why, but this planter was filled with railroad rocks. As I lifted him up to brush him off, his face was covered in blood. Thankfully, my mom was there to help stop the bleeding and get him to a clinic to get stitched up since I was completely useless–frozen in fear.

When Kaden was about two and a half years old, Scott was outside pushing him on our new swing set. Scott tickled his feet and played peekaboo as Kaden swung toward him and away from him. Suddenly, Kaden’s hand slipped from the chain. He fell forward out of the swing and did a face plant into the ground. I heard the high-pitched scream as they came in the house. This time it was my turn to stop the bleeding while Scott watched in panicked silence. We headed off yet again to get stitches at a clinic.

As we are now navigating the waters of raising a high schooler, I am concerned about more than my sons’ physical safety. I desperately want them to grow into men who honor God with their lives, think clearly, and have healthy relationships. My husband and I have proven that we cannot keep them from injury even when we are closely watching them. God has protected my boys in the past. I choose to trust Him to protect them now. And I choose to trust Him to protect them in the future, no matter what that future holds.

“Lord, thank You for Your peace when we choose to trust in You, our Rock.”

For His Glory

Tammy Randlett (http://www.staletoast.com)
TRBC Women’s Life

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

