Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 7, 2017

No More Pretending

feb-7“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life. “ Psalm 139:23-24 (NLT)

 

My 8 year-old loves to dress up. When my sister gave him a mustache tattoo from a Grad night goody bag, he wore it proudly all day.

He loved to pretend that it was a real mustache … but let’s face it; he wasn’t fooling anyone. Anyone could see that he was still an 8 year-old boy.

I have to admit that even I like to pretend once in a while. I like to dress up for a fun costume party, to wear silly outfits with my kids, or to act sophisticated in a formal dress on a date with my husband. (Yes, I have to pretend to be sophisticated.)

I believe these are all appropriate ways for an adult to pretend. The danger comes when I pretend with God. I may be able to fool my friends and acquaintances–acting like I have it all together. I may say the right things, quote the right verses, sing the right songs, know all of the Bible stories…but I cannot fool God.

Psalm 139 tells me that God sees me for who I am, He knows my every action and behavior, He discerns my thoughts (verses 1-4 and 13-18). This would be incredibly overwhelming and downright scary if I left out verse 5: “You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head.”

In verse 24, at the end of the chapter, the psalmist comes to the conclusion of the matter: “Point out anything in me that offends you…” (verse 24a). This request leads to the greatest reward of all: “and lead me along the path of everlasting life.” (verse 24b)

Realizing that God knows me so well (better than I know myself), I should want to be honest with God so that He can lead me to repentance. I mean, who doesn’t want everlasting life, right?

While playing dress-up is fun on occasion, let’s stop pretending with God. He can see through our mask anyway.

“God, show me when I am not being real with You and others. Lead me to repentance and everlasting life.”

 

For His Glory

Tammy Randlett (http://staletoast.com)
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

