Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 15, 2017

Make A Wish or Pray A Prayer

feb-15“For nothing will be impossible with God.” Luke 1:37 (ESV)

When my youngest was 4 years old, he used to love riding around the neighborhood in a little green wagon. Every time we saw a “wishing flower”—a dandelion, I had to stop immediately. Kaden would then carefully pick the flower, make a wish, and blow the flower until he had no more breath. (If he couldn’t blow the flower clean in one breath, he would just rip the rest of the white “floaties” from the stump.) Most of the time, he wouldn’t tell me what he wished for, fearing the wish would not come true. One day, he was overcome with excitement and just had to tell me. Kaden said, “Mommy, do you know what I wished for? That Mickey Mouse would be alive again!”

Hmm… I wasn’t sure what to say to that so I just smiled and started pulling the wagon along again. What 4-year-old wouldn’t want to play with a “real live” Mickey?

Later that day, I was reading my Bible when I came across this verse: “For nothing will be impossible with God.” (Luke 1:37)

I certainly don’t think God would bring Mickey Mouse back to life, especially since he was never alive in the first place, but it did get me thinking. How often do we rely on wishful thinking when we could rely on Jehovah-jireh? Jehovah-jireh is a name for God which means “the Lord will provide.” God is called by this name in Genesis 22:14. God tested the faith of Abraham by asking him to sacrifice his son Isaac but God provided a ram instead. God presented a picture of the sacrifice His Son would make for us. Jehovah-jireh provides our salvation through the death, burial, and resurrection of Christ. Will we trust Him with our day-to-day needs? No matter what our circumstances … no matter what our need … where will we go for provision?

I am so grateful that I serve an all-powerful God who provides for my every need—physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually–instead of placing my fate in the hands of a “wishing flower.” Nothing is impossible with God, our Provider.

I place my trust in You, Jehovah-jireh, for my salvation as well as my every need. Thank You for Your provision.

 

For His Glory

Tammy Randlett (http://staletoast.com)
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

