Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | March 17, 2017

The Gap

Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.”  Psalm 105:4 (NIV)

Why is it that some of us are destined to select the slowest checkout lines?  Just the other day I selected a line that was so slow, I was sure it was a world record candidate.  After three price-checks, ID verification and a refill of receipt paper, I was able to return home and inform my family that instead of ice cream, I would now be serving milkshakes.

One benefit of my extended stay was that I got to flip through an interesting magazine.  (Something I rarely do!)  This particular magazine highlighted famous men and women who died in 2012.  As I skimmed through the obituaries, I noticed a small blurb about Steven Covey, the author of the popular book, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. Although decades had passed since I read that book, I was reminded of Covey’s statement:  That between every event and response in life there exists a GAP.  In this GAP of anticipation, we are invited to press into God and draw from His strength and grace BEFORE jumping to a response.

If you are like me, you may not have ever paid much attention to this gap.  But, the reality is that before every response we make, we are given an opportunity to first meet with God.  So next time life throws an unexpected challenge, hurt or upset our way…let’s take a moment and meet God in the GAP so He might further align our responses with His truth and character. No matter what, He is faithful to guide us…even when our dreams melt into milkshakes as we face life’s unexpected delays!”

“Lord,  Please grant us the strength and wisdom to seek You before we respond to the events and hardships of life.  And when we come, please make us receptive to the work You wish to do in our hearts!”

For His Glory

 

Claudia Dempsey
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

