Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | March 22, 2017

Right Road – Wrong Direction

“In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:6 (NKJV)

My family finds humor in my ability to get lost – even with directions.  Once returning from vacation, my tired husband needed some assistance driving.  Switching places, I drove the car and followed his instructions as he quickly fell asleep.   Two hours later a gut wrenching horror encased me! Remarkably, I had managed to go back in the same direction!! Obviously, losing my focus was generated by distractions.   My choices were consequential; it took twice the time to arrive home, and my husband wasn’t overjoyed.

Isn’t the Christian life similar?   God’s Word is clear and precise, yet somehow lack of focus and distraction lead us down paths contrary to His Word.  Notably, wrong choices always lead in wrong directions with monumental consequences.   Two wrongs never make a right!!

Distraction is one of Satan’s most effective tools.   How is he distracting you today?  Could it be completing devotions, witnessing, ministering to a hurting friend, or perhaps completing a project at work, carrying out a decision, losing weight, etc.?   Stop, pray and stay focused.  Giving Christ freedom to direct our path is guaranteed.   He will never lead us in the wrong direction!!

“Lord, help me to see Your guidance and not be distracted throughout my day.   Let me follow Your path outlined in Your Word.”

For His Glory

Patsy Sanders
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Responses

  1. I think C.S. Lewis said it best in his book “Screw tape Letter” when he said that satan’s goal was to keep us BUSY!


Leave a Reply

Categories

