Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | March 23, 2017

One Step At A Time

“So Mordecai went away and carried out all of Esther’s instructions.” Esther 4:17 (NIV)

I am one of those people who will come up with comparisons and analogies out of virtually anything. Think outdoors, I use that. Think people, I use those. Think life, I also use that. Think food, and I use that, too. So, it was not something out of the ordinary when I received my order at Benny’s Pizza in downtown Lynchburg, Virginia, a couple of weekends ago, that I had one of my famous inspirational moments.

The slice of pizza I received was like a perfect dream; so big that it came on two paper plates. So, being the Brazilian person that I am, who eats almost everything with the help of a fork and a knife, I sat there for a couple of minutes, wondering just how I was going to dine on that elephant-size pizza slice without my plastic ware. Necessity, however, makes very creative people out of us; therefore, I began to take little bites all around that pizza slice, until I finished it off. And yes, I ate the whole thing!

While I was eating that pizza, I thought about life (this was my inspirational moment). We can’t tackle everything in life all at once. Sometimes, it takes us doing one little bit at a time, and thinking things through, in order for us to cross to the other side. Some proverbial phrases such as “keep chipping at that iceberg and some day it will break” will offer some encouragement when life situations are tough to handle, such as working on a college degree, paying off a loan, and even eating Benny’s pizza.

I am reminded of a young woman named Esther. Raised by her next of kin, Mordecai, she ended up in King Xerxes’ palace and ultimately became queen, even though she was a Jew. Having her mind set on getting the King to set her people free from Haman’s plots of lies and deceptions, she did not act in haste. Instead, Esther sought God’s directives.  She then gave and followed instructions to Mordecai and her people.  Esther prayed and fasted and her journey was successful. One step at a time.

 

“Dear Lord, so many times we fail because we rush into conclusions and rely on our own ability! Help us, Lord, to plan and strategize before we proceed forward.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

