Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | March 30, 2017

The Samaritan Woman’s Diary: If You Only Knew

“If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink; you would have asked Him and He would have given you living water.” John 4:10 (NIV)

Dear Diary: As usual, I was the only woman drawing water out of the well and, not only was I alone, I felt alone. I’ve been longing for peace, but my life is full of turmoil.

I was taken aback when a stranger (a Jewish man!) asked me (a Samaritan woman!) for a drink of water. He said if I knew the gift of God and who He was, I’d be asking Him for living water, and I would never be thirsty again. It’s a deep well, and He didn’t even have a bucket; but, this living water sounded appealing.

The man told me to go get my husband. When I said I didn’t have a husband, He recounted my entire marital history, including my current live-in arrangement! I asked Him to answer the controversy about where we are supposed to worship. He said God is seeking people who will worship Him in spirit and truth, not in a specific place. I told Him that when the Messiah comes, He would explain everything.

He looked at me and said, I AM (He). Right then, I realized this man was the Messiah; He knew everything about me, and yet He had come to offer me eternal life. I was so excited, I left my waterpot and ran to tell others what had happened.

In retrospect, I knew other people had been wagging their fingers at me. However, unlike others, the Messiah deliberately sat at the well to talk with me. Dealing with my problems and daily chores consumes so much of my energy; I felt thickheaded when He began talking about spiritual things. I was shocked (and relieved) that He didn’t criticize my personal life. Our conversation was baffling; but as He related things I was familiar with to spiritual truth I was able to comprehend the larger meaning. If only I had known this years ago – my life could have been so different!

Once the Samaritan woman tasted living water, she immediately shared the good news. Her simple testimony – “He told me everything I ever did” – spurred others to believe and to seek out Christ for themselves. What specifics in this woman’s life and testimony can strengthen your efforts as a witness for Christ?

“Father, thank you for the living water of eternal life offered through your Son, Jesus Christ. Help us to follow our Savior’s example and consciously make opportunities to share this good news with others.  We ask for wisdom and guidance as we seek to change our world and grow your Kingdom.”

For His Glory

Trina Stephens
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

