Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | April 20, 2017

Embracing Jesus

“But let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” I Peter 3:4 (ESV)

Love warm sunshiny days. Love my dark chocolate. Don’t love warm sunshine melting my dark chocolate. Equaled one big mess in my new white purse! My husband found this humorous when I reached in and found chocolate on my keys, on my phone, on my money, etc. I’m sure you get the picture if it was in my purse it was smeared with melted dark chocolate. The evidence was everywhere.

Ever have the evidence of your attitude smeared everywhere – obvious for all the world to see. I love those days when reflecting Jesus is simple, easy and carefree. Everything is going just perfect. Husbands great, children get up on time, work is easy and the pieces all fit together nicely. But there are those days when the darkness of our attitudes collides with His. Our feelings get hurt, and we are quick to respond. Nothing is going the way we planned, and we bail out. Or regret steals away our last ray of hope and discouragement overwhelms us.

End result one big mess smeared everywhere. Our dark smudges touch everyone in our path – an unsuspecting husband, children caught off guard, strangers standing next to us in line – do I need to go on? We can’t hide our dark smudges no matter how hard we try. Despite our imperfections, God specializes in cleaning us up and rinsing us off. When we embrace His thoughts, His responses and His reactions, we avoid a lot of messes and His beauty shines through. Isn’t that what we want the world to see?

“Father, perfection is far from our grasp – help us to reach out and trust You to guide us, lead us and direct our steps.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

