Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | May 4, 2017

Daddy’s Tab

“I love the Lord, for He heard my voice; He heard my cry for mercy.” Psalm 116:1 (NIV)

When I was 10 years old, my parents headed out of state for a Rotary International conference.  Somehow, I managed to bargain my way into that week-long trip by offering to babysit my 6-month-old sister, Kantia. Mom and Dad were busy with the conference sessions, special meals and spas.  I was delighting myself with the special services provided by the fancy hotel for my baby sister and me, by the mere mention of room service, aka “my daddy’s tab.”

I never did see the bill for the things I was given the liberty to charge on that tab, but after an entire week at that expensive Grand Hotel in Araxá, Minas Gerais, Brazil, I am pretty sure the price was not cheap. Yet, my daddy never did mention it to me.

The grace of God is just like that Grand Hotel tab back in my childhood; it is extended by God to us even if we do not deserve it; even if we test His patience. I undoubtedly tested the patience of a few hotel maids who consistently returned to our hotel room to bring more nicely pressed, soft white linens and towels, because this girl would leave her baby sister without a diaper, simply because it would mean less diaper changes!

As you can probably imagine, things would get pretty messy at times. Sweet friends, isn’t this the nature of humankind? I mean, so often we are given opportunities to experience something good and, either by naiveté, or stupidity, or even for lack of thinking things through, we make a big, ole mess of things, and then we need to rush and put a call in to the One who can fix it all: Our Heavenly Daddy. If you are in the midst of a messy episode, do not give up and do not give in. Jesus can redeem you from it. He fixes the mess, puts the pieces of the broken hearts together, and dries the tears. And the best part is, He will never rub the cost of it in your face.

 

“Dear Jesus: We are faulty and we are totally dependent upon Your grace. Thank you for redeeming us from our mess to Yourself.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

