Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 6, 2017

Perspectives

“O Lord, You took up my case; You redeemed my life.”  Lamentations 3:58 (NIV)

I was out behind my apartment complex a few days ago, when I spotted a dandelion, which immediately reminded me of my grandsons.   Those little boys love to blow on dandelions to see all the little fuzzy parts break away into a crazy flight. I grabbed my phone to take a photo of the dandelion and noticed that from the angle where I stood, my building and its twin did not seem so big. If I knelt down to take the photo, the dandelion would look just as big as those two buildings.

This is what perspective does to us! I have mentioned on previous writings that I am a person who loves analogies. So, think with me here. If I looked at that dandelion sitting there in the wild, a little weed all by itself, surrounded by a whole bunch of grass.  I would see a small plant of no significant consequence, unlike an oak tree, or a willow tree or something that exhibited a large trunk and implied sturdiness, or anything else that the dandelion does not. Instead, in my adventurous and creative perception, I chose to find ways to make the dandelion seem bigger than it really was, and I did.

Friends, have you ever faced a problem in your life that was blown way out of proportion when it could have remained something small? Say, for example, an argument you had with someone else, which could have ended with a kind word and instead was ended in an inflammatory manner because neither one of you wanted to yield? There are many examples I could list here to show you how, at times, we make something so large out of something that could remain near to insignificant. We end up making a storm out of a drop of water (Brazilian saying).

God can handle problems of any size, but He also expects His children to be wise. If you could sympathize with my example above, perhaps this is time to change your perspective and keep your dandelion small, as it should be.

“Dear Lord, so many times we fear our problem is too big to be handled and we don’t realize that we are viewing it by the wrong perspective. Open our eyes, Jesus.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

