Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 8, 2017

Sympathy: More Than Just A Word

“Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.”  Romans 12:15 (NIV)

I recently spoke with a friend whose wife filed for divorce a few months prior, and he found out that they were now divorced.  He lost his job over the depression that overtook his heart. The sadness caused by his spouse’s departure became his constant companion and he could not shake it off. I confess that when I heard this news I was deeply saddened, because I, too, had walked in those shoes.

When my ex-husband left me, I thought my world would come to an end; thus, I had two options.  I could succumb to it and let everything go to waste, including myself or I could use my faith to help me overcome the sadness, disappointment, anger,  depression,  anxiety and so many other feelings that had sprung from within me. Divorce is a very sad thing and only those who have gone through it can sympathize with the pain that others are going through after them.

Divorce is a separation. It is like severing the limb of a tree from its trunk. To us, humans, who can be so emotionally driven, the pain can seem like a path that is unsurpassable, and perhaps even like a precipice upon which one stands and could easily fall to his or her demise. The pain will overtake one’s mind, if the appropriate help is not sought. I praise God daily for strengthening my faith through the whole separation and divorce process. When I felt abandoned by my spouse, He placed amazing, godly friends in my life to pray with me and to help me up when I was so weakened by my sadness that I could not stand on my own. We all need those people in our lives.

Do you know anyone walking through the sadness of divorce? Let them know they are not alone. Even if you do not know what to say, you can be there to listen, to offer company, and to pray with them. Oftentimes, reassurance suffices; knowing one is not alone. If you are willing to show Christ’s love to someone hurting from the pain of divorce, you may be the very lifesaver he or she needs.

 

“Father, please help us to love others like You love them.”

 

For His Glory
 

 Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

