Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 14, 2017

Eyes Focused

“You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!” Isaiah 26:3 (NLT)

We celebrated the end of another long school year with a trip to Carowinds (an amusement park). My 11 year-old son (pictured) is a daredevil. He has been dreaming of the day he would be tall enough (54 inches) to ride all of the thrill-seeker rides since the last time we visited Carowinds five years ago. As the day of reckoning drew near, rides to be tackled were listed in order of wildest to most tame. At the top of the list was The Fury, touted as the world’s tallest and fastest giga coaster. Fury has a peak height of 325 feet and reaches speeds up to 95 mph. I had no desire to ride this coaster … except I wanted to share such a monumental experience with my boy. I gathered up my nerve and headed for the line, which was surprisingly short for such an epic ride. Did others know better than to entrust their lives to a mere lap restraint?

The trip up the hill seemed to go on so long that I fully expected an airplane to pass us at cruising altitude. I was chanting the words, “It’s just a ride. It’s just a ride.” I was also confessing any known sin to God as well as asking His forgiveness for any unknown sin (just in case). I tried to close my eyes to block out the fear, but that didn’t work. I had to focus my attention fully on my Savior in order to survive this adventure. If God could save the Israelites out of the hands of the Egyptians, couldn’t he save me from the clutches of this death trap? If God could raise the dead to life, couldn’t He lower my blood pressure as I struggled with the grip panic had on me?

We may not typically be faced with our own mortality on a roller coaster, but we can be filled with His perfect peace all the same. If we choose to trust Him—to focus our eyes on Him alone and not on our circumstances–whether we are driving to work or riding a roller coaster, whether we are waiting for news from the doctor or celebrating an achievement, whether we are struggling with overwhelming grief or plodding through a normal day, He floods us with his perfect peace.

“Father, we trust You alone with our very lives, including whatever situation or circumstances we may find ourselves in. Thank You for promising us Your perfect peace if we will fix our eyes on You.” 
 

For His Glory

Tammy Randlett (http://staletoast.com)
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

