Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 20, 2017

Evil Doesn’t Provide Freedom – Jesus Does

Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother or sister who sins against me? Up to seven times?”  Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times. Matthew 18:21-22 (NIV)

 

One of the biggest lessons we read about in the Bible is called forgiveness. We could ignore every instance about the Lord Jesus speaking to people on the need to forgive others. We could ignore the very words of the Lord’s Prayer.  However, it would be impossible for us to ignore what happened when the Roman soldiers severely beat, spat on, pushed, kicked, and ultimately nailed to the cross the Son of God. On that horrid day, as Jesus was about to draw His last breath, He did not use His last words to curse the people who were despising Him. Instead, Jesus prayed to His Father these few words: “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” Luke 23:34 (NIV)

 

If we are followers of Jesus Christ, we must learn from His teachings. If we profess to follow His lead, then we must also practice what He taught us and modeled for us. It is impossible to say we follow a leader and not to mirror His teachings.

 

Some time ago, I experienced something that hurt me deeply. Words can pierce so deeply within us that if we are not careful, we will let those very words determine our fate, which could culminate with our death (physical or spiritual). I must confess that when that happened to me, my blood felt like it was effervescing inside my veins; my thoughts were those of vengeance, that “an-eye-for-an-eye” type of rule. I was angry, hurt, and ready to pay back my attacker at the same level. Nonetheless, as I called out to the Lord, His Spirit made me grieve. I was in so much conviction that I could hardly breathe. “Pay back evil with evil? Is that what I have taught you, child of mine?” I heard Him ask me. I begged Him to forgive me for harboring those feelings in my heart, and I went to the very person who hurt me and begged forgiveness. Whatever the reason that made that person want to hurt me so badly culminated in the One who hung on the cross for me saying, “Let it go. Forgive and move on. I will take care of you. I am your peace.”

 
“Lord, in times when my own strength fails to hold me back, please rescue me.”

 
For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

