Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 30, 2017

Untangling Lives

“But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him.”  Luke 10:33 (NIV)

The crash, the scream – what was happening on my deck?  I ran out of my office and found the most vibrant yellow bird fighting for its life.  I’ll spare you the gory details, but the cat devouring its prey saw no beauty in that sweet bird.  And the sounds of one in pain…well I can still hear that cry echoing in my mind.

Don’t know that I’ve ever witnessed someone struggling so hard only to lose.  Or maybe I have…..the only difference was the shrill of their cry was silent.  Vibrant and beautiful on the outside yet fighting a losing battle inside.  Ever been there …when someone you love draws closer to the edge. They’ve kept it all tucked deep until the suffocating fatigue sets in and victory slips out the door.  Defeat mirroring the pain as the enemy slips in to devour his prey.

Do you hear the cry?  Did you witness the crash?  Did you the leave the comfort of your space to ask what was happening?

Wonder why I’d leave my agenda, my work for the sake of a bird fighting for its life when I’d walk past sweet, hurting ones with eternal souls unmoved?  It’s easier, less messy than entangling our lives, our time, our prayers to those fighting desperately for their lives.   We can dismiss the echo in our ears but not in our hearts.  The sounds of one in pain lingers, and when we see through God’s eyes, then we know why we’re here. We realize that apart from His grace, we’d be there too fighting, struggling and afraid to ask for help.

“Father, help us to reach out, lift up and encourage those whose battle is long and hard.  Give us the right words to say at the right moment to draw then closer to You.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

