Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 13, 2017

Pass Down The Baton of Love

“A cheerful heart is good medicine.”  Proverbs 17:22a (NIV)

 

When our boys were small, we used to play silly games with them while on road trips. One of those games was called “duck.” Simply put, any time we spotted a bridge or viaduct, we were supposed to duck in the vehicle as to not “hit our heads.” Silly, right? You bet! But oh, many were the fun trips we took with our beloved threesome, and I always soaked in the laughter and giggles that went on in our vehicle. I would not trade those days for anything in the world, because our children felt love and cared about.

 

Being the mother of three sons has been my biggest achievement. Being a parent was something I had always looked forward to, so when I was blessed with my boys, the most important title I could take on for myself was “mom.” When I took my children to the park, it was not uncommon to see me playing hide-and-go-seek, duck-duck-goose, and soccer with them. I also would climb on monuments such as old war tanks and firetrucks, skip rocks on ponds, or anything else my body would endure, so I could be part of my children’s day. Despite any hard times or hurdles we faced, family time was of utmost importance.  We were often found piled up in a bed watching a movie together or playing outside as a family. We always instilled in our boys the importance of cherishing time together and supporting one another.

 

But then, one by one, the little birds grew and flew off the nest. Today, my sons are doing important (fun) things with their own children. When I visit or speak with them via Skype, I can hardly contain myself from jumping in my car and driving to them, so I can experience those giggles and laughter in person.

 

Children are such a precious gift from the Lord. Love on your little ones and show them how to love the Lord. They don’t stay children forever. One day, when they are grown, they will model that instilled love to their own children and you will feel a great sense of accomplishment.

 

“Lord, help us to love and cherish our heritage as a gift from you, passing down good values, faith, and love down to each generation to come.”

 

For His Glory

 

Luska Suzano
TRBC Women’s Life

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

