Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 17, 2017

When Listening Is All We Have

“When you pray, don’t babble like the idolaters, since they imagine they’ll be heard for their many words.”  Matthew 6:7 (HCSB)

 

I don’t know that’ I’ve ever been at a loss for words. How about you?  Chatting is my best sidekick – I just don’t stay quiet for long.  I’m sure as a child, I was annoying.  Always asking questions.  Talking endlessly as if tomorrow I wouldn’t be able to speak.  And what did this girl talk about?  While I don’t remember most of those conversations, I’m sure I filled up a lot of space with absolutely nothing but noise.

Fast forward to big girl status and my talking can still go on forever.  I just love the sound of my voice in an empty room reaching to the heart of God.  Soothes my soul in a big way.  Connects my heart in a deep way. Drowns out His voice  – not a good way.

Being still before Jesus doesn’t come easy to this rambling girl.  Don’t know that I would have ever learned how until I lost my voice.  Totally disconnected from everyone and everything, I strained my vocal chords simply attempting to be heard.  Next day what little I had was gone.  Not a single whisper.  A pen and paper in hand, I wrote words I couldn’t say. Held them up high for others to see and read.  Hoping to engage, connect and release all that was bottled up in that couldn’t get out.

Worst part, I couldn’t seem to find God.  Prayer suddenly seemed distant since He couldn’t hear my voice. So, I sat without a word to say or write.  Stillness surrounded me and then I finally listened.  My many words were gone and His Words filled my soul.  No more rambling and empty phrases just simply hearing what He had tried to say for so long.

Love Jesus’ sweet reminder that we don’t have to speak much to be heard.  Love the fact that our Heavenly Father isn’t impressed with our vocabulary or lack thereof.  Convicted that He expects me to come (when you pray) to listen and not just fill up space with my noise.  Love the way He ever so gently waits for quiet to settle in.

 

“Father, You are more impressed with our hearts than our words.  Help us to draw near to you and listen for Your voice and not our own.”

 

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Women’s Life

Leave a Reply

Categories

